RSS

Alice Gale is for Sale

27 Nov

Having enjoyed Alice Gale since completing the build in 2011 I am moving into another chapter of my life and have the necessity of selling Alice Gale. She has been maintained covered and garaged for her entire storage life. Made with top quality woods and parts she has been a remarkable joy to have owned and sailed or motored (electric propulsion) around the bays and lakes in Southern California. A few trips up the coast to Washington allowed me to tow and launch Alice Gale in new locations. These trips are the highlights of ownership. Current condition of Alice Gale is excellent with all fittings in solid condition. The fit and finish remains the same as when completed. A few stains on the floorboards the only indication of age. How does one price an object that was produced with your own hands over a two year period. The joy of building Alice Gale was reward in itself so I consider any labor on my part to have already been reimbursed. So looking back at the actual cost of Alice Gale for all parts and materials to date I have an investment of $18,650. If labor was standardized Alice Gale would be around $35,000 if build by a commercial boat house. I will be offering Alice Gale in two modes of sale. One is complete as she is currently fitted, a full sailboat, motor sailer, and electric launch. You go boating with or without the mast and sails if desired. I have found having the electric motor just ticking over overcomes the motor and prop resistance and gives a 1/2 knot boast in speed resulting in a very nice ability to point upwind. The current condition of Alice Gale includes the Elco 9.9 electric motor (48v), four 100 amp hour 12V batteries(all new), and two new upgraded Genius 10amp dual battery chargers on board. My asking price is $18,990.00 and includes the current boat trailer. If an electric launch is not your thing and you have a small outboard ready for use I can remove all the electric and battery options from Alice Gail and my asking price in this configuration is $15,990.00 If your new to my blog please spend some time exploring the building of Alice Gail. You can contact me through my email listed on this blog.

Launch Day
Newport Back Bay back in 2015. Looks the same today except for new Elco 9.9 electric motor

One of our trips to Washington

Lake Havasu on a windy day, reefing required
End of a great day out in Alice Gale
This will be missed
 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2021 in Building Stage

 

2 responses to “Alice Gale is for Sale

  1. Tolga

    November 30, 2021 at 5:10 am

    I am sorry for your selling decision. I hope the reason is to build bigger sailboat 🙂 and i hope a perfect sea and sail lover will buy her.

    Best regards,
    Tolga

     
  2. mossnoble

    November 28, 2021 at 9:02 am

    Good luck with your new venture, Stan. The Alice Gale shows beautifully!

    Hugs,
    Carolyn

     

Leave a comment