RSS

A nice day of sailing

23 Jun
 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2013 in Sailing the Ebihen 15

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “A nice day of sailing

  1. Roger Nelson

    January 14, 2014 at 9:10 am

    Hey Stan, The potter group will be sailing in Dana point on Sat the 18th. A couple of us are sailing
    classic wood boats. Come on down and sail with us. Roger nelson

     
  2. Dean

    July 14, 2013 at 12:37 am

    Hi. Great Boat! What was the final cost of building that one? Thinking of building 16 my self. Ty

     
    • twsg2009

      July 14, 2013 at 8:11 am

      Construction cost for this Ebihen 15 was close to $11,500 for materials and supplies. This did not include my cost for the outboard, trailer, and tools needed for construction. Your cost will vary based on selection of hardware and variable lumber cost. It can be built for less of course as I picked pretty expensive hardware. I also duplicated a lot of ‘sanding’ effort during the course of construction as a new builder so I was not efficient with my supply cost. Overall though, it is a large boat for the 15 ft length and expenses will be higher then typical. As an example my other 14 foot boat, a duck punt (built in 3 weeks) was around $500 for materials, supplies, sail rigging, and portable dolly.

       
    • Norman Eder

      December 13, 2013 at 4:54 am

      Dean:

      I see you passed through Portland in November. You may have been on the Columbia the very same day I was out sailing the Ma Cher’ie a newly built Ebihen 16. Feel free to contact me directly for the story and photos.

       
      • twsg2009

        December 21, 2013 at 6:53 am

        I would love to hear more of Ma Cher’ie!

         
    • Roger Nelson

      December 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm

      Hi Stan, A beautiful boat ,and nice to see it sailing in Long beach. I sailed along side of you at Lake Havasu when you got T Boned. Ouch!! I was sailing my SF Pelican Bad Bird that day.
      I sail a lot out of Long Beach as i live in Whittier which is 15 min to launch ramp. If you want company on a sail someday i could bring my new boat (simplicity 14) and cruise up the bay.
      Roger Nelson

       
      • twsg2009

        December 21, 2013 at 6:50 am

        Hi Rodger,

        Yes I remember you and Bad Bird. It was a great week in Havasu, even with Alice Gale getting roughed up. I got her nicely patched a d continue to sail locally in Newport Beach and Long Beach. I will provide you a heads up when we sail again.

         
  3. jwbrownx

    June 23, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    Stan-
    Looks like it was a nice day to sail. Thanks for sharing.
    Jamie

     
  4. Anonymous

    June 23, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Hi Stan,
    Ooooooh it looks so peaceful! So do you! What a joy to watch and sail right along with you.

    Thanks, Carolyn and Charlie

     
  5. Anonymous

    June 23, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Great stuff Stan!

     
  6. Clint

    June 23, 2013 at 6:41 am

    Great job on the video! So glad to see a Vivier boat on the West coast being used. They are delightful boats.

     

Leave a Reply

